I haven't written in a while, mostly because I really
haven't had anything worthwhile to write about. I haven't been tracking my
food. I haven't been fulfilling my good health guidelines. I have been eating
foods that are just conducive to a healthy lifestyle. And no, I'm not surprised
that I've gained some more weight.
I haven't gained all of the weight back because I haven't,
as my friend Tami says, fallen completely down the rabbit hole. I am still
eating better than I used to. I am still getting activity in, even if it's not
as much as I want to or should.
Since I injured my foot 22 months ago, I feel like I have
been in a fog. (Yes, I am bringing up the injury again, but I promise, this is
the last time I will write about it. Even I am sick of thinking about that damn
injury.) I have had small goals, but none have seemed to have stuck. I bike
ride for a while but quickly get bored. I made a goal to track my food but I
just didn't do it. I would make a goal to fulfill my good health guidelines,
but I would rather have ice cream than have the cup of fat free greek yogurt
and fruit. I would forgo the fruit that was sitting on my desk at work for some
potato chips from the kitchen.
I know these are not decision that lead to weight loss and
good health. So why did I make the choices I did? Was I in what some people
call "brat mode", where I just don't want to do it? Was I just tired
of making all of the hard decisions? I don't think so, but there are a few
things I have learned about myself over the years:
1. I need to have goals. Without a goal, I don't
quite have a purpose.
2.
I get bored easily and need to constantly
challenge myself.
3.
I am always looking to get better and to do
better at almost everything I do. I always look to learn something new in
everything I do.
4.
There is nothing that pisses me off and
motivates me more than being told I can't do something.
5.
I am a very competitive person.
It has been much harder this time starting to run again,
partially because I am heavier than before, but also because I am somewhat
afraid that I will hurt myself again. I know it's okay to be afraid, but it's
not okay to be crippled by that fear. So I decided that I needed to set a new
goal for myself and I wanted it to involve running. I could have signed up for
a 5K, a 4-miler, or even a 5-miler, but I've already conquered those races. They're
fun, but I KNOW I can do them. I've never raced a 10K, but I've walked 10Ks and
more just for fun this summer, so it really didn’t seem like much of a
challenge.
I DID plan to do my first half marathon in March 2013 before
I was sidelined, and it still pissed me off that I couldn't at least try to
complete it. So this week I decided to train and sign up for the same half that
I had planned to do last year. And like that race, I plan on walking/running
the race.
I mentioned the idea to my leader/friend Melanie, who
mentioned I could train to run the whole thing in the five months between now
and then. I probably could, and that feels like an all or nothing kind of
situation that I try not to put myself in. So, I will train to walk/run it, and
if I manage to run/walk it then even better.
So how does this help me? Well, by having a goal and
purpose, I am find I make better choices. I have already started making better
food choices and asking myself, "Will this help me run and walk better? And
"Is this food going to help me fuel my body?" or "Do you want the
chips or do you want to complete the race?" I haven't been perfect and I
don't plan to be, but now I have a reason to want to do well and feel well. If
you take a single step in a slightly different direction, it could change
everything.
And why will this time be different? Well, I'm for it five
months before the race. This gives me time to strengthen up my legs and get
some solid base mileage in before starting to train. I am giving myself 16
weeks to train instead of the normal 12, to account for holidays, vacations,
and bad weather (I will only train outside this time which means there may be
some days when I just can't get any running in and will need to walk). And before
I ONLY ran or walked and never did any cross-training. This time, I am already
figuring out how I can figure out other activities, sch as bike riding, weights
and zumba. I'm even thinking of trying pilates (which is supposed to be great
for runners!).
I'm really excited and a little scared to do this race, but
I'm okay with that. It's going to be hard but I can do hard. Where's the fun in
that?