I received the results of my MRI today. I have a pulled
tendon and some degeneration. I had to Google tendon degeneration. Apparently
it occurs when an athlete increases activity too quickly. Well, I guess this
means I am officially an athlete. The good news is that I didn’t tear anything, so that’s
promising. Also good news that it is already starting to heal because it is not
as painful as it was a week ago (and definitely not as painful as three weeks
ago).
I need to continue to wear the brace with the 27 Velcro
straps as it seems to actually be helping when it is not annoying the shit out
of me. I also need take 400 milligrams of Advil twice a day for at least the
next ten days. Doc would have prescribed something else, but I am allergic to
most of the drugs they prescribe for this sort of thing. I also have to do a
month of physical therapy twice a week. Physical therapy is activity, so I’m
definitely all for that! I go for my evaluation on next week.
In the meantime, running, biking and anything that puts pressure
on the foot is out. I am ashamed to say that I have been focusing on not what I
can do, but what I can. Well, that stops now. What I can do: most strength training
exercises, especially the machines at the gym; walk, at least a mile or two a
day as I have been, and I can swim (if anyone knows of a pool I can “borrow”
for a month, please let me know).
What this means for my mid- and long-term plans, I have no
idea, but I know what I need to do now. I will focus on the rest when I need
to.
No comments:
Post a Comment