In the last 18 (almost 19, but who's counting) months, I had
numerous visits with doctors, two months of physical therapy, weeks of wearing
what I called a straight jacket for my foot, one X-Ray, one MRI, and one
fitting for orthotics. I tried different forms of exercise: Zumba, bike,
(h)elliptical, fake kickboxing classes, toning classes, machines, weights,
walking, and even tried this class called Throwback, which was really intense
and made me sore for five days.
Today I did something that was a LONG time in coming. This
morning I ran. I RAN.
Okay, it was more of a walk with a few bursts of slow
running. I'm sure I didn't look particularly cute or coordinated. And I didn't
get very far before I would get too tired and had to walk. I didn't care. I
RAN.
Let me rewind a bit. About two months ago, I went to a new sports medicine
specialist to get a second opinion/update on my foot. He told me there was no
reason I shouldn't be running since it is all healed but that I should use
orthotics or arch supports. I explained that I was already using arch supports,
and they were not enough, so he suggested custom orthotics because, "Most
runners have orthotics." Fortunately, they had a podiatrist within the
same practice and was able to see him that same day. About two weeks after
that, I trekked to Brooklyn and got fitted for the orthotics. I received them
two weeks later.
I was told to break them in slowly, an hour the first day and gradually increase the amount of time. It took a long time to get used to them. I had an old pair of running shoes that I put them in, but they were really for lots of stability and had almost no cushioning. Both of my feet were hurting after a few hours of wearing them, so I knew I needed a new pair (and I purposely waited until after I had the orthotics). Last Sunday, I went to the greatest running store ever and got fitted for a new pair of running shoes. I had been walking in them to get used to the shoes, but I had been wanting to take them for a real test drive since I got them.
And I did! It has been so long since I ran, so I knew I
wasn't going to run far. I am also up about 20 pounds from the last time I ran,
so I knew it was going to be a slow ride. I didn't care. I walked for about 10
minutes to really warm up my, which is what I always did, Then I ran a very
flat, long block. I didn't even make it the entire length of the black before
having to walk, but it was wonderful. Of course I started crying almost immediately
after that first leap, but I told myself, "If you cry, then you won't be
able to breathe, and if you can't breather then you can't run!" I held off
crying until I started walking. I was just so happy.
What amazed me was that although it had been so long since I
ran a step, my body still knew what to do. I didn't need to think about my
breathing. I didn't need to worry about the movement of my arms or anything. My
body just knew what to do and did it.
And the foot? It felt fine! I stretched and will do my
exercises and ice my foot tonight just in case, but I had no ill effects.
I can't wait to do it again.